Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider
Forum Themes:
Welcome !

Things I miss (Or why California sucks)

Change Page: < 12 | Showing page 2 of 2, messages 31 to 58 of 58
BBq King

• Total Posts: 123
RE: Things I miss (Or why California sucks) Wed, 04/9/08 10:38 PM (permalink)
quote:
Originally posted by Davydd

quote:
Originally posted by pdxyyz

BBq King

http://www.healthydairyindustry.org/dairy.html#cheese

Still not number one in cheese.

So, the California dairy industry "misspoke"?

I only said #1 DAIRY state with BETTER cheese which it is and not #1 in cheese production.

sveinbjorn

• Total Posts: 5
    RE: Things I miss (Or why California sucks) Wed, 04/9/08 11:37 PM (permalink)
    Newbie here! During my years in the Navy, I spent 4 years in the Philadelphia area, and 5 years in Memphis. I've been back in SoCal for quite awhile now but things I miss the most would have to be:

Memphis BBQ (or Kansas City)
    Catfish and Hush puppies
    Philly Steak Sandwiches (I have them hold the cheese)
    Strombolis
    Philly Soft Pretzels with mustard! Many places around the rest of the country CLAIM to have them, but they're not even close. But, Tri-tip and Carne Asada feeds go a long way to heal the hurt. :)

I read a couple of people mentioning Victor Valley in the High Desert. If you haven't been back here in the last 10 years, you would hardly recognize the place.

Svein

cecif

• Total Posts: 1412
      RE: Things I miss (Or why California sucks) Thu, 04/10/08 1:09 AM (permalink)
      Welcome Sveinbjorn!

I used to live in Philly too - I miss the steaks & pretzels, but when summertime gets here boy oh BOY do I miss the water ice!!!!!!! YUM!!!!!!!!!!

(I agree about the dim sum quality IamsMom... and I'm still chuckling about the Lynn banter in the other thread btw...)

enginecapt

• Total Posts: 3486
        RE: Things I miss (Or why California sucks) Thu, 04/10/08 4:52 AM (permalink)
        quote: