Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
Bob M
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 6
2011/09/06 00:21:42 (permalink)

To start or not to start?

Hello All:

I am new to this forum and have read a few threads and found them interesting and informative.

I am 41 yo and have been working an office job for about 10 years, looking forward to retiring in a few years from a job I do not like. I am interested in starting a new business and find myself gravitating toward a small fast food restaurant. I have no experience in the food business and have never been involved in a small business. 

I would have enough seed money to start the business and am willing to put in one or two years of sweat equity. After that I would like to be able to sit back and sort of run the show from a bit of a distance while the business grows. I will not be using leverage and in case of failure I will still be able to have a comfortable retirement. My main goals are to have an extra avenue of income (not be completely dependent on stocks, bonds, etc) and also have some involvement in something I can call my own. I find the challenge fascinating (at this time). 

I am not looking for another job, since my current job pays very well and if compensation were the only consideration, I would be better off doing what I do.

Do I have a reasonable chance of success? Am I going down the right path?

All comments are welcome!
chefbuba
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 2016
Re:To start or not to start? 2011/09/06 00:34:41 (permalink)
Take that money your planning to spend to A/C and put it on black, you will have better odds there.
6star
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 4388
Re:To start or not to start? 2011/09/06 00:49:07 (permalink)
A few questions that may or may not be relevant:

>  Are you married or single?  If married, have you talked this over with your wife?  What are her views on the subject?