Trip Report - Santa Fe and Taos with Road Scholar

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
emmymom
Hamburger
  • Total Posts : 94
2010/07/29 04:01:05 (permalink)

Trip Report - Santa Fe and Taos with Road Scholar

My traveling companion and I recently returned from a week in Santa Fe and Taos, NM with the Road Scholar organization (a great nonprofit which organizes travel with an educational component, mostly for older adults although all ages over 21 are welcome.)  While we were there we had the opportunity to try several  restaurants reviewed on Roadfood, and since I've enjoyed so much reading other people's trip reports, I thought I'd give one a try.  This is my first attempt at posting photos, so let's see if it works!

We arrived at the Albuquerque Sunport on Sunday, July 11 and took the shuttle to our hotel in Santa Fe, which was on the Cerrillos Road commercial strip, not in the fancier (and more expensive!) downtown area.  Neither my companion or I had ever been to the southwest before, and we were very excited to experience the differences in landscape from our flat, eastcoast home in Delaware.

The first thing we noticed was lots of the color brown....very few trees except where planted and watered deliberately.  Lots of scrubby bushes and sagebrush.  But what was most noticeable was the sky.  It seemed bigger, and closer, and more dramatic than back east. 

We had arrived at about 2 PM mountain time, which was 4 PM as far as our eastern appetites were telling us, and we needed lunch!  The hotel staff recommended a small Mexican restaurant a few doors up the street, with the comment. "The little hole-in-the-wall ones are the best."  A short walk later we were at Adelitas.  This tiny, family-run restaurant had great food, and the festive atmosphere was added to by the finale of the World Cup on the TVs in either corner of the room.  Most of the kitchen staff were in the dining room, loudly cheering for Spain (they won later, after we left.)