What happened during your Heath Department inspection?

Author
Hungry Dog
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 24
2012/11/01 12:25:23 (permalink)

What happened during your Heath Department inspection?

Hiya Guys,
      I am new to hot dog carts and the food business in general. I have never witnessed a Helth Dept inspection. What are they going to target on my cart? Not being a stick and morter building are they going to be sticklers??  I am sure cleanlyness with be a top priority as well as food temps. What else are they going to look at? I know most states are different,  but what should I expect?

Any one have any problems they want to share?

11 Replies Related Threads

BpCBlake
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 439
    Re:What happened during your Heath Department inspection? 2012/11/01 12:33:18 (permalink)
    every state is different.
    some want 3 proper sinks and a hand washing sink. some dont care.
    some will let you cook foods on them. some will only let you sell precooked foods. some will let you have a grill and griddle and some wont. some will even let you have a deep fryer. and some wont.  this is why most manufactors give you pictures and schmatics before you buy a cart. if you get the wrong cart you will have a expensive bird feeder.

jcheese
    Double Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 759
    Re:What happened during your Heath Department inspection? 2012/11/01 18:40:30 (permalink)
    I would say if you followed all the rules, it is what you think. Cleanliness and proper temps. Over do it. Keep hand sanitizer, hand wash and gloves handy and visible. Have your thermometers out and visible. Keep every thing clean and wiped down. Keep extra tongs, etc. in case you drop one.
    Ran into my inspector at an event. He said he watched me from afar at another venue. Didn't make an inspection report either time.