Hot!Williamsburg/Jamestown/Northern Neck VA

Author
NYNM
Filet Mignon
  • Total Posts : 3053
2012/05/20 00:39:06 (permalink)

Williamsburg/Jamestown/Northern Neck VA

We're headed there over Memorial Day. Suggestions? (non-touristy)

16 Replies Related Threads

brookquarry
    Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 280
    Re:Williamsburg/Jamestown/Northern Neck VA 2012/05/20 05:45:53 (permalink)
    Five Forks Cafe, South of Williamsburg is non-touristy (We were the only car with out of state plates, and served a very good breakfast).
     We also liked Pierces  Barbe Que, although I am far from an expert on good barbeque.
    Avoid the munerous pancake houses, especially Mama Steves.
    Glenn1234
    Double Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 576
    Re:Williamsburg/Jamestown/Northern Neck VA 2012/05/21 02:28:25 (permalink)

Do you really mean "non-touristy", or do you mean non-tourist trap?  There is a big difference.  A place might gets lots of tourists because it is genuinely good, and both tourists and locals will eat at that "touristy" place.   A "tourist trap" just lures in tourists and is a rip-off.  Locals won't touch it. 
     Being that Williamsburg is primarily a tourist oriented destination, lots of good places will be touristy.  

Anyway, Pierce's Pitt Barbecue has really good barbecue, but it is touristy.  Lots of locals and tourists alike enjoy it.  

I'm going to disagree with Brookquarry on Mama Steves (unless he/she meant to stay away because of tourists).    Yes, it gets tons of tourists, but it is one the few breakfast places in Williamsburg that brings in genuine Surry sausage. They also have the real deal dry salt-cured Smithfiled ham.  If you haven't had that before, you are in for a treat.  It is very strong, and be warned that you will be thirsty all day.