The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Yet Another Food truck build!

Change Page: 12345678910.. > >> | Showing page 1 of 12, messages 1 to 30 of 347
BTM676

• Total Posts: 202
Yet Another Food truck build! Thu, 12/29/11 8:19 PM (permalink)

Ok I have 16ft 1985 P30 Chevy Step van. I've been working on making it a food truck for the past 3 months. There was nothing in the truck structurally besides one beam on either side and no interior wall. The bumper is was 8 inch kidney bumper, which I removed and built a 18 inch wide platform bumper made from 4 inch aluminum channel to hold the 100lb propane tanks. Ive just got done framing the inside of the truck with 2 inch by 1 inch aluminum rectangular tubing. Yes, it was alot of money but I want max strength, small dimensions also keeping it light weight. The beams are spaced 12 inch apart, as well as, welded to the body of the truck. Welding was over kill but I just dont want to have to worry about....ever. I used 2 inch foam insulation between the beams.
I'm going to try to post pre-built pictures and as well as the current build pics. I might need help with that cause I'm new to this site.

BTM676

Re:Yet Another Food truck build! Fri, 12/30/11 1:26 AM (permalink)
    I figured I'd post where I got some of my supplies online. I got both my water tanks 21gal and 30gal from randpcarriages.com. I also got my surface mount DOT LED backup and tail lights from there as well. Everything from the tanks to the lights were very reasonable if not the best price I found. And that company is very well respected and shippments go out the next day. They have tons for stuff. As for the metals, I got them from a local metal supply wholesaler (Nivert). I got Nuts, bolts and rivets and some tools from Homedepot, Harbor freight, and fastenal.

Barbeque barn

• Total Posts: 187