Young (prospective) restaurateur seeking advice on plan

Author
twinsfan
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 5
2013/12/29 22:52:26 (permalink)

Young (prospective) restaurateur seeking advice on plan

Hi y'all,

I'm a seventeen year old chef- yes, seventeen, who's been working professionally around food for five or six years. I had the opportunity to start out on the professional barbecue circuit when I was twelve, and work as a caterer for three years. Recently, I've been working around so-called "molecular gastronomy" and other forms of nouveau Southern cuisine. 

Now, I understand this is a ridiculous pipe dream, but I've entered preliminary discussions around opening a very small (12-24 seat) restaurant on a shoestring budget. I understand limited funding is a terrible idea in the restaurant industry, but the cache would be that it would only remain open for nine months before I head off to college. This would be a venue for working with the modest modern techniques and preparations in a low risk situation. I've catered, worked in professional kitchens, and staged multiple times, and although I have little experience, I'd like to try it.

Considering I'm aiming for a 1000 sq ft restaurant with 20-24 seats, I have determined the project is possible for anywhere between $12-20k.  This would include rent, insurance, utilities, tables/chairs, plateware/glassware, maintenance equipment, etc. Is this worth pursuing if I can fund raise through crowd-funding?

24 Replies Related Threads

nightmarejr
    Junior Burger
    • Total Posts : 4
    Re:Young (prospective) restaurateur seeking advice on plan 2013/12/30 00:46:56 (permalink)
    Have you considered a food truck instead? That budget is really small for what you want to do and on top of that the time it would take to do certain construction things if needed. 
    Foodbme
    Porterhouse
    • Total Posts : 10115
    Re:Young (prospective) restaurateur seeking advice on plan 2013/12/30 01:18:18 (permalink)