Your favorite BBQ sauce...???

Author
BackRhodes
Double Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 726
2011/08/29 23:21:45 (permalink)

Your favorite BBQ sauce...???

Howdy...

I see a mention here and there about bbq sauce, but no 1 thread to tie it all together in terms of bbq sauce you can buy at a store...

What BBQ sauce(s) do you buy...and can you get it via mail order...???
Please tell us what it is you buy, and give a webby site URL if at all possible...

I just changed favorites...

My previous favorite is a local sauce called OT's...it's from Contra Costa County (SF Bay Area) on the delta side of Mt Diablo (Antioch but started in Pittsburg)...I think it was started by 2 players from the Oakland Raiders. It's owned by Hazel Foods and their webby site is www.otsbbqsauce.com  and it's a VERY simple sweet red sauce that I've been using for close to 20 years, and the only place I can find it is at the Safeway in a nearby town...it's a deep mahogany color and the 1st ingredient on the label is Ketchup, so it DOES have humble beginnings, and I sometimes use this as a side dip for a tri-Tip bbq...

But the king is dead, long live the (new) king...also from CCC (Contra Costa County) and it's Kinder's...Lyn says she remembers a Kinders Restaurant as a kid, "someplace" in CCC...maybe Danville ?  and it comes from western CCC (Walnut Creek)...this is also a sweet red sauce but of a lighter, more orange color, and I think the taste is what I've been looking for...it went on my Super Burger tonight, and I often slother it on my favorite cajun hot links (Evergood, a company in San Francisco)...I like the MILD version. They DO make a roasted garlic version but I think the garlic is burnt & bitter. The first ingredient is tomato puree, so it also comes from humble beginnings...their webby site is www.kindersbbq.com  I bet I'll use this stuff on everything but pancakes...