green chile stew

Page: < 123 > Showing page 2 of 3
Author
dickestep
Double Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 533
RE: green chile stew 2007/03/14 05:44:33 (permalink)
quote:
Originally posted by morningglory

Good questions about those tomatillos, and one I cannot answer, ss I do not cook with them like others do. I'd like to know, too. Thanks, in advance to those, so much wiser than I.

Thank you, Morningglory, I've been working with this recipe for the past four decades and I believe I prefer the slightly acidic taste the tomatillos add. To me they're a perfect match with the Chiles and the pork I use in this dish.
To each his own tastes, of course, but I've seen them in a number of recipes and have been adding them for several years. I hadn't seen them mentioned in the thread yet, so I asked.
rouxdog
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1421
RE: green chile stew 2007/03/14 15:44:59 (permalink)
TOMATILLOS, interesting thought. Believe I'm gonna give that a try.
Thanks for the suggestion D'step!
dickestep
Double Cheeseburger
RE: green chile stew 2007/03/14 17:14:26 (permalink)
quote:
Originally posted by rouxdog

TOMATILLOS, interesting thought. Believe I'm gonna give that a try.
Thanks for the suggestion D'step!

You are most welcome. I use ten or twelve of them in a small batch of Chili Verde and extrapolate up for larger batches. The last time I made this was at one of our favorite watering holes on dart night.
I used three six-to-eight pound pork butts chopped up bite sized and trimmed, several pounds of the tomatillos, and ten to twelve each of large Poblanos and Anaheims.
Oh, yes, I added three to four pounds of cubed New Potatoes the last twenty minutes or so, along with shredding some of those sweet baby carrots into it. They seem to mellow the flavors a bit. It amounted to about three quarters full in my five gallon roaster. We had several packages of tortillas and Fritos. The heathens ate everything, then gnawed on the handles of the roaster oven.