in-n-out is overrated

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
artphon
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 29
RE: in-n-out is overrated 2006/07/06 06:10:05 (permalink)
I was in LA this winter and tried IN-N-OUT for the first time. I thought it was OK, but not worth the very long wait. The second time I tried a double and it was better. But still nowhere near as good as FATBURGER, which despite having become a small-sized chain, is still excellent I think (at least the one on the Santa Monica Promenade, which is the one I visit). I became hooked on the original FATBURGER at the intersection of La Cienega and San Vicente, late night, when I was a graduate student at UCLA in the 70's. They season fresh meat with salt and pepper, which makes it very tasty IMHO.

Rockbeast
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 44
RE: in-n-out is overrated 2008/07/23 14:17:15 (permalink)
I order my double-double animal style so it has more flavor than the standard style. They grill mustard into the burger, they grill the onions, and add extra sauce. You can 'animal style' the fries too. That means they add melted American 'cheese' and a bunch of their special sauce (pretty much like thousand island dressing). It looks awful, but I sure enjoy it from time to time. My standard order is Double-double animal style, order of fries (reg or crispy), Barq's rootbeer. If I'm really treating myself, I'll substitute a Chocolate shake.

It's fast food, but it's a great fast food burger. It's about the experience, it's about the helpful and happy workers (never saw a sullen teenager...maybe it's the higher wages?), it's about the fact that they almost always get the order exactly right. I have to go back and get my burger redone or 'fixed' many times at Micky D's, Wendys, etc.