Need some advice

Chef Billy Jack
  • Total Posts : 5
  • Reward points : 0
Need some advice - Sun, 10/2/05 8:19 PM
Maybe some old pros out there can help me with this; my wife is tired of hearing about it...LOL..here's my situation..I have been in the foodservice industry for about 25 years and I currently work as an Exec. Sous Chef--the job is OK, but not much room for advancement. I am going to Culinary School, and I love cooking, but over the years I am finding out that I HATE managing people--especially lazy people. I'm wondering what types of careers there are out there where I can use my speed, dependability, and background (in everything from New Store Opener/Corporate Trainer to Exec. Chef to Catering manager) and not really have to deal with managing people. I thought of a complete career change, but I have SO much experience in what I am doing. Thoughts? Ideas? Thanks for your time.

Scallion1
  • Total Posts : 418
RE: Need some advice - Sun, 10/2/05 9:26 PM
Along the same lines, think about catering. One-man operation. Maybe you need a prep person/dishwasher. I don't know what you'd do about the servers. Or maybe you could come up with a product, like selling baked goods or cookies to retail outlets. Only problem there is that to make enough to earn any money you'd need a few additional bakers.

I started out wanting to be a chef garde-manger. Just wanted to come in every morning and make the most beautiful galantines of duck. Then I found out that to make any (relatively) decent money I'd have to be the Chef. So that's what I did. And it took me about 15 years to learn how to manage people. Hardest aspect: how to be strict without being abusive, how to ask (and then tell) people under me to do things without being passive-aggressive and doing it myself to spite them, and how to be friendly without being friends with the rest of the staff.

zataar
  • Total Posts : 1440
RE: Need some advice - Sun, 10/2/05 9:38 PM
quote:
Originally posted by Scallion1