Great Shapiro's experience

Double Chili Cheeseburger
2006/03/16 16:49:57
I just went to Shapiro's in Indianapolis for the first time in years, and it's as good as ever. This time I took my dad - a native New Yorker and a tough critic of corned beef - to see what he thought. He agreed with me that the corned beef was better than any he'd had in the Midwest - even better than Manny's in Chicago. He also praised the rye bread, which was thick with nice crunchy edges. Definitely a million times better than the packaged stuff now used at even some NY delis. The chicken soup was excellent, as was the potato pancake and strawberry rhubarb pie. I wish it wasn't four hours away! Or maybe it's better that way -I'd weigh 300 pounds if it was here.
mayor al
Fire Safety Admin
RE: Great Shapiro's experience 2006/03/16 17:11:06

We used to "do" lunch there back in the 80's whenever we gathered at Ivy Tech's Central Office in Indianapolis. The quality was always very high. I am no expert on Deli sandwiches, but the lunches we enjoyed at Shapiro's were good enough to hold a memory cell or two in my old mind.I am pleased to hear that apparently the quality is holding up over the years.
Sundancer7
Fire Safety Admin
RE: Great Shapiro's experience 2006/03/16 17:16:20
I have not been to the one downtown since the reopened but I have been to the one on the North side of Indy. It is located in a very upsacle shopping center.

The selection was enormous and the bakery was super. I had the corned beef. Although it was not stacked high, it was very tasty and the veggies were very good also.

Paul E. Smith
Knoxville, TN
signman
RE: Great Shapiro's experience 2006/03/16 20:34:47
Glad to hear you had a good meal. It's been at least 2 years since I've been there. In addition to the very good corned beef and fresh baked rye I think Shapiro's has excellent potato salad, one of the best I've ever had. And I always leave with a little bag of rugelach.
Davydd
Sirloin