State Sales Tax Exempt

samo
  • Total Posts : 2
  • Reward points : 0
State Sales Tax Exempt - Thu, 03/30/06 12:47 PM
Hi,
Hope someone can clear this up for us.

We have a concession stand. We buy most of our supplies at Cosco's and Sams. Everyone tells me I should not have to pay sales tax when I buy my supplies for sale at our concession stand.

Can anyone in the restaurant business tell me what is correct.

We have our Federal ID number, but I have only used it to buy large
restaurnat equipment.

Thanks in advance for your information.

tmiles
  • Total Posts : 1908
RE: State Sales Tax Exempt - Thu, 03/30/06 1:35 PM
It depends on your state. I am not a tax pro, but as I understand it in my state (and I could be wrong, but I have not been fined or arrested), this is the way it goes here. I am not in the food biz but I do run a business. I pay a tax on goods that I CONSUME to run my business. I don't pay a tax on goods that I buy to resell. I COLLECT a tax (on behalf of the state) on goods that I sell. As an example take a roll of paper towels. If I am buying them to use, I pay a tax. If I am buying them to resell, I don't. I don't know about food, because in this state there is no tax on food. BTW, in my state you would owe a tax on that big restaurant equipment. In addition to your federal number (at least in Massachusetts) you need a sales tax ID. In my state the sales tax dept really is there to help you understand the law. You should try yours.

damon2
  • Total Posts : 47
RE: State Sales Tax Exempt - Thu, 03/30/06 4:00 PM
In California, it's the same as tmiles, I don't pay sales tax on my food items as they are for resale, but on equipment and supplies I do. I would suspect you also need some sort of resellers permit / state tax ID. You need to check with whatever your state agency is, as in some states all food sales are taed, whereas in others take out food is not...and you may fall into that catergory being a concession stand.

Hope it helps a bit