Beans (no Texans allowed)

EliseT
  • Total Posts : 2849
  • Reward points : 0
Beans (no Texans allowed) - Sun, 02/22/04 4:39 PM
OK, ignoring for a moment the eternal beans/no beans debate...what KIND of beans would you put into your chili if you were to happen to have them in there...like maybe a can or a bag just sort of accidentally tipped over...

I myself favor a 3:1 Kidney beans to pinto beans ratio.

Donna Douglass
  • Total Posts : 508
RE: Beans (no Texans allowed) - Sun, 02/22/04 4:49 PM
Elise....I'm no chili expert but have always put kidney beans in my chili until....Michael and Jane turned me onto Pinto beans. The way they described them as little pillows of goodness (or words to that effect) was the beginning of my love affair with Pintos, so now they are my bean of choice for chili or anything else, with maybe the exception of black beans for soup.

I understand the purists form of chili and agree that it would be quite delicious, but we've grown up with beans in our chili so I guess that makes a difference when it comes to preferences (especially for my husband who would not like chili without beans "even if it were good," to borrow one of his favorite expressions.

Donna

lleechef
  • Total Posts : 6228
RE: Beans (no Texans allowed) - Sun, 02/22/04 4:49 PM
Pintos. Pintos. Pintos. Sorry Lone Star.

Adjudicator
  • Total Posts : 5057
RE: Beans (no Texans allowed) - Sun, 02/22/04 6:28 PM
From a prior thread:

"It Ain't Chili And It Ain't Beans"

8 (16oz.) cans pork & beans
4 (16 oz.) cans dark red kidney beans
2 large yellow onions
1 stalk celery
2 large bell peppers
4 oz. jalapeno relish
1 1/2 oz. cayenne pepper
1 1/2 oz. black pepper
1 Tbsp. Salt
1 oz. liquid smoke flavoring
2 lb. ground sirloin
2 lb. Hillshire Farms beef sausage
1 lb. sharp cheddar cheese
1 lb. Mozzarella cheese
2 pkg. McCormick chili mix