Starting hot dog trailer W@ashington State

Junior Burger
2014/04/15 18:49:00
Just a few questions, I want to serve a grilled hot dog but I also want boiled/steamed. What are advantages and disadvantages. Can you boil then grill to save time. As you can tell I'm a true newbie so any input will be helpful. I want to run a self contained trailer that doesn't need a commissary.
Midnights
Cheeseburger
Re:Starting hot dog trailer W@ashington State 2014/04/15 19:21:02
I would suggest reading the previous threads on this topic.
Foodbme
Porterhouse
Re:Starting hot dog trailer W@ashington State 2014/04/15 21:25:01
Hot Dogs are pre-cooked.
All you need to do is heat them up.
Never boil a hot dog. it takes the flavor out of them.
Heating them up in hot water would speed up the heating process before grilling them.
Follow Midnights advice and read everything on the "Professional Hot Dog Vendors" Forum. 
http://www.roadfood.com/Forums/Professional-Hot-Dog-Vendors-f47.aspx
chefbuba
Double Chili Cheeseburger
Re:Starting hot dog trailer W@ashington State 2014/04/16 09:45:04
Steverb

Just a few questions, I want to serve a grilled hot dog but I also want boiled/steamed. What are advantages and disadvantages. Can you boil then grill to save time. As you can tell I'm a true newbie so any input will be helpful. I want to run a self contained trailer that doesn't need a commissary.

No such animal, read the food code.
patriotdogs
Junior Burger
Re:Starting hot dog trailer W@ashington State 2014/04/17 14:22:37
chefbuba

Steverb

No such animal, read the food code.

this.  the government has super-regulated the hot dog cart industry.  you have to buy your license, pay application fees, sales tax permit fees, take a health food permit class, then you have to find a licensed commissary to work out of.  if it was too easy, everybody would be doing it.  trust me, it aint easy.  you can't just go out and buy a cart and start slingin'.