Hello!

Author
scott64a
Junior Burger
  • Total Posts : 4
2013/01/09 14:02:19 (permalink)

Hello!

I realize I risk the usual internet forum barrage of Devil's Advocacy replies in posting a "hello" with some questions, but here goes:

I am a paramedic in MA, living in Cambridge. I have a few great locations nearby that would be a great place to set up a hot dog push cart, and am wondering if anyone here in the area knows some of the more sticky ins-and-outs of setting up a push cart in Cambridge.

-Do they allow push carts at all? 
 If so, are they allowed on sidewalks? Who do I ask about that?

I see a handful of food TRUCKS over by MIT, but haven't seen any push carts.

I've gleaned from reading here that I'll need a state hawker's/peddlers license first, then a city license, board of health inspection and sign-off, and probably a fire dept sign-off as well. I'd need to be set up to pay MA food tax as well. I'd have to set up as a sole proprietor.

What else?

How did you guys/ (and gals,) get set up with a commissary partnership? I don't know the first place to start there. 

Still, I'm intrigued with the idea of doing what it takes to be set up and do this for a living. Even with it's sundry requirements, it still looks like a fun way to make a living. I spent two summers working at carnival counters as a barker back in the early 90's, and loved it. I do realize that there is SO much more to getting it going than just showing up and selling wares, and I welcome any and all info.

I plan to just sell hot dogs, sodas, water, chips and maybe some pre-packaged cookies. (the kind of cookies that are labelled for individual sake, of course,). 

I'm sure I'll be having plenty of correspondences with my city BoH and offices, but I wanted to start here first, just to see what those "in the know" had to say.

Best,
Scott

5 Replies Related Threads

jcheese
    Double Cheeseburger
    • Total Posts : 762
    Re:Hello! 2013/01/09 17:37:13 (permalink)