If you were going to open a "Comfort Food" Rest.

Page: < 1234 > Showing page 3 of 4
Author
Cornbread
Hamburger
  • Total Posts : 53
RE: If you were going to open a "Comfort Food" Rest. 2006/11/18 10:26:22 (permalink)
My $.02

1. Vegetable plates with Pinto Beans, Rice & Gravy, Collard Greens, Candied Yams with tomato and red onion slices on the side.

2. Meatloaf with either Brown Gravy or Tomato Gravy.
3. Club Sandwiches with potato chips in the middle of the plate.
4. Homemade Fried Chicken plate with Homemade Mashed Potatoes and Biscuits.

5. Turkey and Dressing

Okay now I am starving!!!
ann peeples
Sirloin
  • Total Posts : 8356
RE: If you were going to open a "Comfort Food" Rest. 2006/11/18 11:06:44 (permalink)
EVERYTHING sounds good!!!
Ashphalt
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1644
RE: If you were going to open a "Comfort Food" Rest. 2006/11/18 12:21:41 (permalink)
Okay, I'm an amateur, but I want to eat at all of your restaurants.

Also interested in the regional take. A lot of this, like meatloaf and mac & cheese, I think are pretty universal. Here's a few that I think would be pretty common comfort foods in my area.

Chowder, clam or fish (option, oyster stew)

Meatballs, on spaghetti or in a baked sub with provolone

Franks, baked beans and brown bread

Boiled dinner (corned beef, cabbage and all the trimmings)
OR Pot roast with thick brown gravy, mashed potato and boiled veggies.

Any kind of baked pasta (baked ziti, lasagna, manicotti, even American chop suey)
PapaJoe8
Sirloin
  • Total Posts : 5504
RE: If you were going to open a "Comfort Food" Rest. 2006/11/18 13:26:27 (permalink)
I can not read this thread very often, makes me WAY to hungry!

The only way to have a restaurant w/ all this stuff, all the time.... Vacume freezer bags, thaw and heat as ordered. Way to much waste otherwise. Some things might not freeze so well, but most will. Any coments?
Joe
Voyageur
Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 400