The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

It's not easy being cheesy

heyheymon

• Total Posts: 3
It's not easy being cheesy Fri, 02/15/13 4:09 PM (permalink)
Hey all, newbie here! I've been reading some really good information here for a while so I thought it time to chime in. I'm down in Louisiana and I've just purchased an 18' Airstream for a steal and I'm going to convert it to a food truck. It's not the traditional food truck, I won't be cooking, I'll be a mobile cheese shop. You can go all over Europe and find these awesome trucks and trailers that sell cheese in these built-in refrigerated deli counters, but can't seem to find any here in the states so I'm creating one, or at least something similar to one.

I need to have my deli case pretty low, so that when the customer is standing on the outside of the truck, the deli case is at eye level with them so they can see the cheeses. So I need a big opening, at least 5 feet wide. It would be just like walking into a shop, up to the counter, tasting samples, etc. so a sliding door or window won't work for me, I basically need the side of the trailer opened up. There are a couple of panels that can be removed to accomplish this, so I don't think (fingers crossed) any cutting will have to be done. I will just need to figure out how to close it up when I'm done.

My biggest question is what type of door/window/etc.  can I use to close up and lock down.