The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Best way to cook pork onsite for pulled pork sandwiches

JBJRConcessions

• Total Posts: 7
Best way to cook pork onsite for pulled pork sandwiches Wed, 09/19/12 8:27 PM (permalink)
Ok, I'm new to the concession game, so I got a question: If I want to do pulled pork sandwiches in my trailer, and the food has to be prepared onsite, what is going to be the best way to go about cooking this? We ve thought of using 12" stock pots and putting the pork roast in on end... would this be feaseable? Any ideals would be appreciated, thanks everybody!!

chewingthefat

• Total Posts: 6097
    Re:Best way to cook pork onsite for pulled pork sandwiches Fri, 09/21/12 12:44 PM (permalink)
    First of all pork roast??? you would want pork butt or shoulder, butt is better IMHO. Get yourself a small portable smoker from Southern Pride, smoke it a day in advance,  pull it on the day of use, hold it in a tub of warm, spiced chicken broth or warm eastern carolina vinegaar sauce. When serving pull your portions out , shake off excess broth, onto your roll, paint it with sauce, Voila!

KurtSara

• Total Posts: 181
      Re:Best way to cook pork onsite for pulled pork sandwiches Sun, 09/23/12 4:11 PM (permalink)
      JBJRConcessions

Ok, I'm new to the concession game, so I got a question: If I want to do pulled pork sandwiches in my trailer, and the food has to be prepared onsite, what is going to be the best way to go about cooking this? We ve thought of using 12" stock pots and putting the pork roast in on end... would this be feaseable? Any ideals would be appreciated, thanks everybody!!

maybe you posted this in the BBQ forum by mistake but to make BBQ pork you don't boil it in a stockpot.