The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider
Forum Themes:
Welcome !

Personal Drinking and Driving Experience

mar52

• Total Posts: 7595
Personal Drinking and Driving Experience Thu, 12/27/12 8:54 PM (permalink)
With the New Year's Eve Holiday upon us I would like to share a personal experience with my friends and family about drinking and driving.

As you may know, some of us have been known to have brushes with the authorities from time to time on the way home after a "social session" out with friends. Well, two days ago I was out for an evening with friends and had several cocktails followed by some rather nice red wine. Feeling jolly I still had the sense to know that I may be slightly over the limit. That's when I did something that I've never done before - I took a cab home.

Sure enough on the way home there was a police road block but since it was a cab they waved it past. I arrived home safely without incident. This was a real surprise as I had never driven a cab before, I don't know where I got it and now that it's in my garage I don't know what to do with it.

fabulousoyster

• Total Posts: 1855
    Re:Personal Drinking and Driving Experience Thu, 12/27/12 9:19 PM (permalink)
    No, you were lucky.
    <message edited by fabulousoyster on Thu, 12/27/12 9:20 PM>

CCinNJ

• Total Posts: 7743
      Re:Personal Drinking and Driving Experience Thu, 12/27/12 9:22 PM (permalink)
      Amen and God forbid.

MacTAC

• Total Posts: 425
        Re:Personal Drinking and Driving Experience Thu, 12/27/12 9:28 PM (permalink)
        mar52

I arrived home safely without incident. This was a real surprise as I had never driven a cab before, I don't know where I got it and now that it's in my garage I don't know what to do with it.
        Pick up some fares and defray some of your holiday spending ;-)

joerogo

• Total Posts: 4463