Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider
Forum Themes:
Welcome !

Need help! Fix my meatloaf!

Change Page: 12 > | Showing page 1 of 2, messages 1 to 30 of 36
ROHfan

• Total Posts: 89
Need help! Fix my meatloaf! Mon, 04/1/13 8:51 PM (permalink)
I love meatloaf. I've been working on my recipe for two years and I finally have the flavor the way I want it. But I can't get the texture right. I like a juicy, yet very firm loaf. Almost to the point of being "springy."  I hate mushy meatloaf and I absolutely despise grainy-textured loafs. Am I using too many eggs? Not enough? Too much/little bread cubes? ARRRGGGGGHHHH!

Here's my recipe. Tell me what the H-E-double hockey sticks I'm doing wrong:

2lb meatloaf mix (beef/pork/veal)
1 medium onion, minced
1/4 cup ketchup
2 Tb worcestershire
1 ts ground pepper
1 envelope onion soup mix
3 eggs
4 slices white bread, cubed
1/4 cup milk
1/2 ts ground mustard
2Tb brown sugar
BBQ sauce for glazing

Method:

Place bread cubes in small bowl and pour some of the milk over it to make cubes moist. Then , mix all ingredients, except bread cubes, milk and BBQ sauce, in large bowl. Fold in meatloaf mix gently until all ingredients are combined. Do not over-work mixture. Add moistened bread cubes and remix loaf being careful not to over-work the mixture.

(Optional: smear butter on bottom of loaf pan and add two slices of white bread to the bottom of pan. Form loaf on top of bread)

Form into loaf and put in lightly greased shallow ceramic pan. Brush with BBQ sauce. Bake at 350 for 1 hr until temp. gauge reads 160 deg. F. (I may need to leave it in the oven longer?)

Remove from oven and let sit for 10 minutes before slicing and serving.

So, what am I doing wrong?

Bill

Cosmos

• Total Posts: 1448
    Re:Need help! Fix my meatloaf! Mon, 04/1/13 10:16 PM (permalink)