The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

No food service experience. Would like to open small concession stand. Where to start?

Botterson

• Total Posts: 1
No food service experience. Would like to open small concession stand. Where to start? Fri, 06/14/13 6:58 PM (permalink)
Hello, all. I'm looking to open a small concession stand to run on the side in addition to my full time job. This would be something that I would primarily do on the weekends. I was thinking of starting off with just one food item (fried cheese balls to be exact). Even after reading about licenses and permits and whatnot, I still feel like I have no idea where to start. As I mentioned in my title, I have no food service experience aside from a few months working at Starbucks. Is there anyone who would be willing to give me a little direction? I would appreciate any advice.

THE WILD DOG

• Total Posts: 1465
    Re:No food service experience. Would like to open small concession stand. Where to start? Fri, 06/14/13 7:38 PM (permalink)
    first, I would do my due diligence and make sure it's something that you really want to  do.
    second, I would draw up a plan of action ( aka business plan )
    third, I would see how much money I have to spend on what I will need, then times that by 3

fourthly, I would contact your local health dept and then tell them what you want to do, and ask them what you will need in your county to set up, get licensed and so on.

fifthly, I would sit down and think about how much time you have to invest into a business, b/c doing it on weekends is NOT going to make you the amount of money you think it's going to make right away, unless you have a massive demand for balls of cheese.