The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

A question for the more "seasoned" professional... (pun intended!)

ryan.cardwell

• Total Posts: 1
A question for the more "seasoned" professional... (pun intended!) Wed, 06/26/13 10:13 AM (permalink)
Hello there Roadfood forum members!  My name is Ryan and I am a new business owner that would like to pick your brains.  First off I've been a professional chef for 13 years and have spent my entire life around the food industry.  

I'm finally taking the next step in my career as a chef and opening my own place.  We are building this restaurant from the ground up so I will need to purchase all the kitchen equipment that is going to be used.  I have a good idea of what items I want but here is some question I have for you.  

Buy used or go new?

I know used items are a great deal and you can find lighty used equipment on the cheap but I don't want to spend a fortune keeping them working.  I've seen owners buy equipment that was so cheap it ended up costing them a lot in repairs and maintenance down the road.

Are there some brands that you've had good luck with buying used already?

Is there a go to website that the restaurant community uses for shopping and comparing?  I've found lots of sites but are there any that you can say from experience are better than others?

So thats just my first thoughts...   I look forward to getting to know the members of the forums, getting good advice, and giving advice!  

RC-  

fishscale28

• Total Posts: 222
    Re:A question for the more "seasoned" professional... (pun intended!) Wed, 06/26/13 11:38 AM (permalink)
    Congrats on the move up in the food chain!!