The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider
Forum Themes:
Welcome !

Hatch Chile Festival

tamandmik

• Total Posts: 949
Hatch Chile Festival Wed, 08/3/05 11:03 AM (permalink)
This is my first year living in the great state of New Mexico, and I was wondering if anyone else here has attended the Hatch Chile Festival? http://www.zianet.com/focus/places/hatch.htm For anyone who does not know about it, and will be vacationing in the area, this is the link. It looks like a Roadfood supreme experience, so I thought I would pass the word along here.

NYNM

• Total Posts: 3037
    RE: Hatch Chile Festival Wed, 08/3/05 8:35 PM (permalink)
    Never been to the Hatch festival but Hatch is supposed to be the top-o-the-line chile.

It's great that chile season is coming on because of the roasting - for those that don't know, most supermarkets - and other places - sell bags of fresh chile, then you take them out to the parking lot where they're roasted for you. All over the state there's the scent of roasting chile in the air in late August/early September.....sweeter than the flowers int he springtime!

Tommy2dogs

• Total Posts: 348
      RE: Hatch Chile Festival Thu, 08/4/05 5:18 PM (permalink)
      quote:
      Originally posted by NYNM

Never been to the Hatch festival but Hatch is supposed to be the top-o-the-line chile.

It's great that chile season is coming on because of the roasting - for those that don't know, most supermarkets - and other places - sell bags of fresh chile, then you take them out to the parking lot where they're roasted for you. All over the state there's the scent of roasting chile in the air in late August/early September.....sweeter than the flowers int he springtime!

A lot of the supermarkets here in DFW roast Hatch Chiles out front as well. They are outstanding

NYNM