The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Low Sodium Options

lowsalt01

• Total Posts: 8
Low Sodium Options Mon, 03/27/06 9:40 AM (permalink)
I apologlize as I am not a restaurant professional but have a situation I believe the restaurant industry is either unaware of or is not sure how to handle. I am on a low sodium diet due to heart failure. I will be vacationing in Texas and have started searching chain restaurant websites for nutrition information and the amount of sodium in their offerings is appalling! Has anyone in the industry tried to address this issue? At better restaurants I know it's possible to ask for dressings and sauces on the side in most cases, but some of my favorite places use preprocessed foods or don't want to give the "naked food" option. Some just absolutely refuse to disclose nutrition info which makes me quite leary. Any suggestions on where to go or how to not drive myself crazy? Thanks.

Sonny Funzio

• Total Posts: 902
    RE: Low Sodium Options Mon, 03/27/06 3:34 PM (permalink)
    What surprises me is that in restaurants there are relatively few instances of recipes that have been modified using the all-potassium product such as "no-salt" available at any grocery store.

I regularly make the substitution (at 100%) in recipes at home and no one so far has noticed any difference in flavor.

Not only do all-potassium salt products lower the sodium content of any recipe you use it in, and of course, generally does it in the same ratio that you replaced the table-salt in(that is, if you replace half the salt called for in a recipe with the potassium version, you lower the sodium content by half ... to the degree it was the sole source of sodium in the recipe)
    ... but also most peoples diets are deficient in potassium to begin with.