Belatedly… Bon Ton, Bourbon and Buffetbuster

Author
cecif
Double Chili Cheeseburger
  • Total Posts : 1414
2009/08/10 23:41:41 (permalink)

Belatedly… Bon Ton, Bourbon and Buffetbuster

… and it starts with a Bucket of Balls.

(apologies for formatting, I am pasting from Word and this is my first time doing so in the "new" forum format... it seems to have changed some of the hard returns!)

It all started with a BEEE-UUUU-Tee-Full day in Manchester NH.  I drove up from Massachusetts to catch my flight to Chicago Midway, and in the deal I had arranged to park for free at a friend’s office next to the airport. Instead of going out to lunch before he dropped me off for the flight, we decided to take advantage of the gorgeous weather and go to the driving range nearby and hit a couple of buckets of balls.   An hour or so later, I was at MHT ready to hop on Southwest 474 to Midway where I was meeting up with Buffetbuster, for a eatingful drinkingful weekend in Kentucky!!!

We talked a long time ago about our mutual desire to eat at the Bon Ton Mini Mart. And BB finally made a plan, contacting the Bon Ton’s most loyal (and famous) patron, Louis, who is also a regular RFer and a Henderson KY resident. BB arranged to meet up with Louis on the last Saturday in April, and happily he invited me along.  BB also asked me to write the trip report, so those of you who might be disappointed that this is not his own hand should know that (a) I was coerced [J], and (b) he will have something to say here (I hope!!).

My uneventful flight landed at Midway and the very first thing I noticed – since it was my first time at this airport – was the plethora of food offerings! And really decent options - even good to great options.