The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Texas Weiners, Newburh Ny, or Newburgh Lunch weiners

tjosephb

• Total Posts: 3
Texas Weiners, Newburh Ny, or Newburgh Lunch weiners Sun, 10/18/09 1:59 PM (permalink)
I am new at this so I will appologize in advance if I am doing this incorrectly.

I previously read a post from someone that was looking for or had the recipe for Texas weiner sauce from the "Texas Lunch" on lower broadway in Newburgh NY.

There still is the Broadway Lunch on upper Broadway but their sauce is just not the same.

If anyone has the original Texas Lunch sauce I would appreciate it as I haven't had their "everything" hot dogs for thirty years. I remember 45 years ago first visitng there with my parents. This was when Newburgh was a real showcase city.
Thanks in advance

MiamiDon

Re:Texas Weiners, Newburh Ny, or Newburgh Lunch weiners Sun, 10/18/09 3:52 PM (permalink)
    It is probably in the Recipes and Cooking Techniques section.  Try a search on Texas over there.

seafarer john

Re:Texas Weiners, Newburh Ny, or Newburgh Lunch weiners Sun, 10/18/09 8:52 PM (permalink)
      The same Greek family that ran the Newburgh Texas Lunch now has a place in Walkill, NY  ( I think it's called Texas Lunch) where they serve up the same sauce as used to be available in Newburgh. Also, Elena's on Broadway in Newburgh has a very nice sauce that is similar to the old Texas Lunch sauce.

The Kingston Dallas Hot Wiener's sauce was published here by an ex-Kingstonian who now lives in Texas. I've made his recipe and it s very very close to the original.

Cheers, John 

seafarer john

Re:Texas Weiners, Newburh Ny, or Newburgh Lunch weiners Sun, 10/18/09 8:52 PM (permalink)