The most memorable local eateries along the highways and back roads of America
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums EatingTours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

POD/food court

daddywoofdawg

• Total Posts: 299
POD/food court Sun, 02/26/12 6:38 PM (permalink)
I have been vending fairs and festivals for a few years and roadside in the off season.I have read about the food courts/pods like in portlandia :) and was trying to get infomation and maybe a consultent about starting one in my area.I would go look at one and talk to the people who run it but there isn't any in my state.So I wondering if there is any help here.How do I start,How do I picth it to the city,etc.

CCinNJ

• Total Posts: 7748
    Re:POD/food court Sun, 02/26/12 7:40 PM (permalink)
    Hi Daddy!

Are you close to Grand Forks?

If so you may want to strike up a conversation with these folks. They seem very friendly and they operate multiple days of the week in a fixed location.

www.skipsgourmetgrub.com/index.html

DWags541

• Total Posts: 174
      Re:POD/food court Sun, 02/26/12 9:01 PM (permalink)
      I live near PDX and have seen some shining examples of pods. I am not sure what is involved with your particular city/county regarding regulations, but I can give you a few observations of mine that in my opinion seem have the most potential for success.
      Of course, location is key. Also, you want to have a group of vendors that are consistent and professional.