Your Guide to Authentic Regional Eats
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums Eating Tours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

White House Sub Shop

2301 Arctic Ave., Atlantic City, NJ - (609) 345-1564
Posted By Michael Stern on November 18, 2006 9:17 PM
You will find excellent subs in and around Philadelphia as well as in other locations throughout the Northeast, but once you’ve dined at The White House Sub Shop, everything else seems second best. We know eaters so passionate about these beauteous sandwiches that they regularly have them shipped via courier to wherever they happen to be when the craving strikes, even if it's halfway around the world from Atlantic City.

Each sandwich is about two feet long, loaded with ingredients that range from fancy white tuna fish to meatballs and sauce. The "White House Special" is a tide of cold cuts -- Genoa salami, ham, capicola, and provolone cheese -- all tightly packed inside the loaf, lubricated with olive oil, decorated with lettuce and bits of sweet pepper.

The ingredients are excellent, but submarine connoisseurs know that it’s what's outside that counts. White House bread, obtained throughout the day from local bakeries, is robust and soulful, not nearly as dainty as the loaves used to make po-boys in the South, but similar to what’s used for Italian beef sandwiches in Chicago.

Like the cheese steak shops of Philadelphia, the White House likes to boast of a stellar clientele. Pictures of celebrity customers line the walls, inscribed with praise for the excellence of the cuisine. News clippings tell of the time the astronauts came to eat down subs, and of Frank Sinatra once having a bunch of them shipped from New Jersey to a movie location. For all its stardust, the White House remains a humble naugahyde-and-neon sandwich shop with a row of booths along the wall and a counter up front. The lighting is harsh, the napkins are paper, and the service is lightning fast: it would be a sin to sell subs any other way.
5 star rating
Overall Rating

22 out of 22 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Bif Pocaroba on January 14, 2013 1:49 PM
I live about two hours away from White House but make sure I visit every time I'm in the area. Without a doubt the best sub in the state and worth going out of your way for. I prefer the Italian sub over the "special," and the hot relish they put on their sandwiches just adds to the already perfect flavor and generously stuffed subs. The tuna and the cheese steak are both great as well. The subs are huge and definitely a treat. It's also worth watching these guys at work; true artists.
5 star rating
Overall Rating
Cheese Steak
Tuna Sub
Regular Sub
Capicola and Provolone Sub - Half
White House special

0 out of 0 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By steve shank on January 5, 2013 10:37 AM
Second best cheesesteak I've ever had. Delicious. And love the old, small atmosphere. You won't be disappointed in the cheesesteak. It's the only sub I've had from there.
4 star rating
Overall Rating
Cheese Steak

0 out of 0 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By ROBERT STRAUSS on October 29, 2011 11:11 AM
I have been eating at the White House Sub Shop for over forty years. My father introduced me to it when I was about five. I have introduced it to my children.

No doubt, the subs are made with great ingredients and the bread is delicious beyond description. I wouldn't swear to it, but I think that some of the guys who made me sandwiches forty years ago are still there, behind the counter.

Regrettably, as with everything else, the prices have gone up, but do yourself a favor and stop in. It will be worth your time and the wait.
5 star rating
Overall Rating
White House special
Tuna Sub

3 out of 3 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Jeff Sommer on June 7, 2011 7:20 PM
More then anything else, this is the reason I drive down to AC a few times a year!
5 star rating
Overall Rating
White House special
Cheese Steak

2 out of 2 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Jim Rigotti on July 3, 2008 6:50 PM
I walked to White House Subs from the Tropicana, which was a nice distance to work up an appetite. I arrived there only to find the line outside the door and down the sidewalk. I enjoyed the 45 minute wait, just hanging out with the other sub lovers. Once inside the door I found you can get the subs for takeout, and you can eat in the park across the street (a great idea to cut down the wait time).

I was told to only get a half of a White House Special (Italian sub) but as I waited in line I thought, when will I next get a chance to try one of these? I made the decision to get a whole. It was at least two feet long and packed with meat and cheese. The best sub I have ever had!!! I was able to eat about 3/4 of it and was full the rest of the day.

I highly recommend the wait for, and the experience of, getting a White House Sub. Bring your own drink: the only available drinks were from a soda machine in the rear of the store.
5 star rating
Overall Rating

11 out of 14 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Danielle Barnabei-Bright on May 12, 2008 6:00 PM
If you're ever in Atlantic City, I suggest you eat at White House Sub Shop on Arctic Avenue. My family is originally from Jersey and I had never been there. It is such a fantastic place to go, and not only for the food; the atmosphere is key. There's nothing like watching the guys behind the counter cooking the cheesesteaks and making the hoagies. The walls are covered with pictures of famous actors and singers who have all had the White House Special.

While waiting at the counter for over an hour just to place an order, we sampled top-notch salami and cheeses. I loved watching the guys make the food; they have such a way about presenting the meat and cheese. It is all laid out in fresh bread in a special order. You can tell there is some kind of detailed training involved.

The White House is worth the wait and I would stand in line five hours to eat there and enjoy the photos. It's a small place with maybe five booths; eat in the street if you have to. Just eat there. It will be worth it.
0 star rating
Overall Rating

18 out of 21 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By travis on May 12, 2008 5:52 PM
After a couple of trips to Atlantic City, I am convinced that there is almost nowhere to eat "regular" food...yeah, there are the buffets in the casinos where you have to battle with other fat, bald guys like me at the steam table (nothing worse than watching old men wrestling over rolls or ribs as the dinner entertainment) and there are the hotel "gourmet" places where a 45-minute wait for a table in an empty resturant is the penalty for not having a reservation.

The last time in A/C, I went out to the White House Sub Shop for a take-out sandwich, brought it back to my room and ate it there; for us Roadfood people, it's heaven. This is the place for us to eat: it's not far from the strip, their prices are right, and the subs are all you could ask for - I had cappricola/cheese dressed with everything (lettuce, tomato, onions, hot peppers, and some other stuff, unidentified, but delicious.

A caveat, here: if you go at regular meal times, expect a wait for a table. At 7:00 PM, there were 12 singles and groups waiting. At most times, there is a wait for a takeout order: you take a number and wait your turn. Your best bet, call ahead for take-out; eat in your room or in the car - or in better weather, on the boardwalk.

I may not go back to Atlantic City for a while, but I will make a detour on my next trip to Wildwood for a whole White House Sub.
4 star rating
Overall Rating

6 out of 6 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Cliff Shockley on March 24, 2008 11:18 AM
My first visit ever to White House: we arrived 8:30pm on Easter Saturday. I'd say it was probably a slow night for them. There were two counter seats and two booths open; the line did run the entire length of the restaurant. The waitstaff was very friendly, but the kitchen staff seemed extremely inefficient. I've been to plenty of carryout places that are just as busy, if not busier, and they handle it much better.

I ordered a chicken parmesan sub and a turkey sub, both without cheese (as I'm allergic). My friend ordered a cheesesteak. The chicken parmesan was the best I've ever had anywhere. The grilled chicken was very tender and cooked thoroughly, and the sauce was flavorful. The turkey was cheap quality, but at least it was very clean/white; I'm very picky about deli turkey and it was good. The lettuce and tomatoes were fresh, not bagged at a factory with a chemical taste. The hot peppers were very good; I thought I detected a little cilantro in the peppers. The bread didn't seem very fresh to me, but perhaps I was expecting too much after the reviews here; it sufficed. I was expecting the bread to be slightly warm, tender inside, with a slight crunch. What I got was very cold and tough.

Now, the negative: the cheesesteak was the worst that my friend has ever had. She has had better at gas station delis; heck, a microwaved Steak-umm would be better. I could tell from the looks that the meat was very poor quality and very tough. The meat had no flavor at all and, to make it worse, there was absolutely no seasoning at all. They could have at least sprinkled some salt and pepper on the meat. If the meat had some flavor then perhaps they wouldn't want to spoil the meatiness but, considering how bad the steak was, it could have used lots of seasoning.

The waitress seemed annoyed at the stupidity of the kitchen staff. My turkey sub was turkey, no cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, raw onions and hot peppers. First they tried to put fried onions on it (she came over before bringing it to me, incredulous, saying "I'm sure you didn't want your onions fried"; we both laughed over it; she said she'd set them straight). When the sub came, it was slathered in mayo. I hate mayo, did not order mayo, and the ticket was very clear, nowhere did it say mayo. The waitress was very embarrassed, and was very quick to get me a correct sub.

Overall, considering there is no other place to eat in all of Atlantic City, it is well worth the trip to White House. Stay away from the cheesesteak; I'd say the cold subs are much better. If you want something hot, get the chicken parmesan, chicken cacciatore, or perhaps chicken steak.
4 star rating
Overall Rating
Chicken Parmesan Sub
1/2 Turkey Sub
Cheese Steak

10 out of 12 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By S. J. Lieberman on April 19, 2007 9:38 AM
If you want a sub with the most flavorful and freshest ingredients you can imagine, and if you want that sub loaded beyond your imagination, and if you want bread that has been made no more than one hour before your arrival, White House is the place for you.

Beware, there are large lines at meal time and very limited seating. Don't let the neighborhood or the look of the establishment turn you off. The secret is to order your sandwiches to go. There is a large parking lot around the corner and pick-ups don't wait in line (too long). The best thing about their "to go" items is that they do not get soggy.

Oh yes, by the way, their steak sandwiches and cheesesteaks are also phenomenal.

3 star rating
Overall Rating

7 out of 7 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Akavar Dylutra on April 5, 2006 11:19 PM
If you crave a good Philly cheesesteak, Whitehouse Subs in Atlantic City makes a great one. This sub shop was started by a highly decorated New Jersey veteran of World War II immediately after he returned from service in late 1946. They have been making great sandwiches ever since.

I arrived just before the noon rush, and had a chance to watch as the staff prepared for lunch. As I was sitting at the counter, a man rang up a large bag of sandwiches he was taking back to his coworkers for lunch. The bill came to over $215.00. Needless to say, Whitehouse Subs does a huge volume of business. There were between six and eight men, working in close quarters, making sandwiches during the entire time I was there. They struck me as sandwich-making craftsmen who took their work seriously, not just men who were making sandwiches because they needed a job.

Whitehouse Subs serves the freshest bread you will find on any sandwich. The bakery is across the street and delivers bread several times a day. Two large bags of bread were delivered at 11:45 AM for the sandwiches to be made that day for lunch. You cannot get any fresher than that. In order to conveniently fit the cheese steak filling on the bread, the sandwich master actually slightly hollows out the roll for the cheese steak. Then they add an appropriate amount of their slowly grilled steak filling. When closed, the sandwich is much easier to eat because some of the bread has been removed.

Rather than the usual Cheese Whiz used in most Philly cheesesteaks, Whitehouse uses a slightly tangy provolone cheese. This cheese is served in a generous portion and is melted over the steak and onions. It pulls slightly as you eat it. I've become accustomed to Cheese Whiz in Philly, but found that I much prefer the real cheese at Whitehouse Subs.

I think that onions are an important part of a cheesesteak. They are not a dominant part of the White House steak. The onions are mostly hidden under the cheese, but they do make their contribution to the overall taste. You look at the sandwich and wonder where the onions are, then take a bite and find they are there and hold their own.

Whitehouse Subs makes a great version of the Philly cheese steak. The bread is fresh, the meat is moist, and the cheese really ties the whole sandwich together. Do yourself a favor and get to Atlantic City for one of these great sandwiches.
5 star rating
Overall Rating
Cheese Steak

14 out of 14 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes

What is Roadfood?  |   Submit Content  |   Privacy Policy  |   Contact Roadfood.com   Copyright - Roadfood.com