Your Guide to Authentic Regional Eats
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums Eating Tours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Santa Fe Bite

311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM - (505) 982-0544
Posted By Michael Stern on December 7, 2013 6:27 AM
Santa Fe Bite is what used to be the fabulous Bobcat Bite on the outskirts of town. It moved from its charming little location to a spot inside Garrett's Desert Inn in the heart Santa Fe, and while the ambience has changed dramatically, John and Bonnie Eckre remain at the helm, and the Bobcat Bite green chile cheeseburger remains the headliner: 10 ounces of freshly-ground chuck and sirloin cooked to your specs and smothered with vibrant green chilies and melted cheese. The rib-eye steak, cut from prime beef, is spectacularly juicy and flavorful. For those with really big appetites, a full one-pound burger is available; and the menu also includes beef steaks, ham steaks, pork chops and even some newly-added New Mexican classics: flautas, enchiladas, and tacos. To drink, there are milk shakes and malts, soda pop, and even latte and espresso.
5 star rating
Overall Rating
Green Chile Cheeseburger
Rib-Eye Steak
Skillet Baked Beans

29 out of 30 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Ms on March 17, 2013 4:21 PM
Juicy and delicious, the best green chile cheeseburger ever! This is a cozy diner. The original, and still current, mom and pop owners (for almost six decades) has had the vision to preserve this gem, with its charm and appeal. You won't find a better burger or friendlier service anywhere in town.
5 star rating
Overall Rating
Green Chile Cheeseburger

1 out of 1 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Emily Kay on June 30, 2012 1:14 PM
One of the best places to get New Mexican food. Cheap too! I usually stock up on tortillas and green chile here too.
5 star rating
Overall Rating
Green Chile Cheeseburger

0 out of 0 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Skip Becker on September 22, 2010 12:20 AM
I believe when I heard the Roadfood group was going to Santa Fe and had all the places selected in town that I said you must visit one of my top burger places in the US. And I told anyone/everyone to try the green chile cheeseburger.

I am thrilled that you all got to go and that they opened early to accomodate you all. My only negative comment in my rating of great burgers is a -5 for the bun.

I have worked with 100s of restaurants and if you order a burger less than medium (like medium rare) if you cut the bun down the middle you will be doing a disservice to the entire sandwich. Looking at the photo and the beautiful medium rare meat you can see that the top half of the bun makes up 80% and the bottom half is now 'shrunk'/depressed to about 15% to 20%. The reason is the juices 'melt' the bun.

To get a perfect shape the restaurant owners must cut the bun about 1/3 for the top and 2/3 for the bottom. then when the meat juices soak down the bottom will still hold the burger and the top won't be all bread. A perfect shape between bun and meat.

I still believe it is in my top 10 of the US. but a -5 for bun quality.
4 star rating
Overall Rating
Green Chile Cheeseburger

2 out of 2 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Sue Huot on July 31, 2009 4:09 PM
The person who said they waited an hour and the staff didn't care AND they lived there six months out of the year... they aren't really Santa Feans. Anyone that lives in Santa Fe knows to do carryout or wait. It's worth any wait.

I have a friend who missed his flight because of a Bobcat Bite burger. If the people from Food Network and other food groups say it's the best burger in the US then it must be worth the wait. Sure it's small and there's no atmosphere, but the food makes up for that. Too many people visiting Santa Fe are five-star white tablecloth kinda folks, but that's not the REAL Santa Fe. Bobcat Bite is, and it's worth every minute you wait. We moved from Santa Fe about a year ago and can't wait to get back for a visit.
5 star rating
Overall Rating
Green Chile Cheeseburger

11 out of 15 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Peter Small on March 13, 2008 4:06 PM
The Bobcat Bite looks pretty nondescript. In fact, I must have driven past it 12 times before I realized it was a restaurant. When I finally went there to eat, I was not disappointed and I have never been disappointed.

They grind the meat daily for their delicious burgers and they sell home fries, not deep-fried french fries. The burgers are some of the best I have ever tasted. It's the meat that makes them, by far.

The atmosphere is crowded, yet homey. It could have been my grandmother's kitchen. An old-style road restaurant. It is well worth the wait. So pull in, put your name on the board (don't forget to do this, or you will wait longer), enjoy the loneliness of the location and prepare for a VERY satisfying burger.
3 star rating
Overall Rating

6 out of 9 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Craig Bowman on January 4, 2008 11:12 PM
Took a while to find Bobcat Bite, but it was definitely worth it. Our map just wasn't real clear about how or where Old Pecos Trail turns into Old Las Vegas Highway, but it does.

Best green chile cheeseburger ever. It is very moist and cooked correctly. They use sirloin and chuck and form the burgers by hand. They come on a paper plate with chips or, for an extra fee, home fries are available. I did not see anyone eating anything else, although there are other choices on the menu.

Very nice folks. The restaurant has been there since the road out front was called Route 66, which is to say a very long time. Expect to wait at dinner; we stood outside for 20 minutes and met some nice people. Also bought a great t-shirt in pink (it wasn't for me). We'll definitely go back when we are next in Santa Fe.
4 star rating
Overall Rating

8 out of 9 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Jim Arnold on September 28, 2007 10:09 PM
We had an extremely poor experience at Bobcat Bite recently on a Friday at noon. We live half the year in Santa Fe and this was our first time at this restaurant, having heard good things about the food. When you arrive you put your name on a board and wait to be seated in turn. There was one name ahead of ours and that party was called. A waitress then skipped us (three adults and a three-year-old) and seated a man whose party had not yet arrived. When we said something the waitress tried to get the man to leave the table but he would not, even though the people he was waiting for were not yet there. The waitress did not seem to care. We waited another 10 minutes for a table (the place is very small) and then one hour for the food to arrive. This has to be the very worst service in Santa Fe.

The burgers were very good but certainly not worth almost an hour and a half wait. The wait would have been bad even if we did not have our three year old grandson with us. You are much better off going to Harry's Roadhouse which is two miles away and closer to town. The food and atmosphere is better and the place is friendlier. We will never go back to Bobcat Bite.
1 star rating
Overall Rating

10 out of 27 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes

What is Roadfood?  |   Submit Content  |   Privacy Policy  |   Contact Roadfood.com   Copyright - Roadfood.com