Your Guide to Authentic Regional Eats
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums Eating Tours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Murphy's Steak House

1625 W. Frank Phillips Blvd., Bartlesville, OK - (918) 336-4789
Posted By Michael Stern on October 11, 2005 4:23 AM
Murphy's calls itself a steak house, but to us it looks more like a diner: counter and stools, bare-tabled booths, and a staff of superquick waitresses who git 'er done. The menu does include steaks, and those that we've seen on other people's plates look huge and good. Nevertheless, it's not for steak that we recommend a visit to this 1940s-era eatery just east of the Osage Indian reservation. It is for a hot hamburger.

If you have pictured in your head some sort of beef patty in some sort of bun, erase that picture and consider this: pieces of toasted white bread spread out on a plate topped with a large hamburger that has been hacked into pieces, the burger topped with a mountain of French fries, and the French fries topped with a large spill of dark, beefy gravy as rich as a Mexican mole. It’s a magic combination, especially the way the crisp logs of fried potato soften in places where the gravy blankets them, imbibing a rich beefy savor for which squiggles of onion (an optional component) are an ideal accent. Even folks who come for steak instead of chopped-up hamburger know to order a side dish of fried potatoes with gravy.

Variations on the theme include a hot cheeseburger, hot beef, hot steak, and hot ham. Extra gravy is available at 35 cents per bowl.

The front of Murphy's menu is emblazoned with a motto that is one of our favorites: "Gravy Over All." When anyone orders a hot hamburger, the motto becomes a question. The waitress asks, "Gravy over all?" We can't imagine saying no.
5 star rating
Overall Rating

18 out of 19 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By David Sacker on October 18, 2012 4:30 PM
Yes, it's more calories than you may want if you're being strict, but as far as food goes, it is incredible. And if you are semi-strict, try their salad with their house creamy Parmesan dressing. It is as good as it gets.
4 star rating
Overall Rating

2 out of 3 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Steve Monty on February 9, 2012 2:16 PM
We would try this place since we are in Bartleville often however the fact that the only picture of food you opted to show was a plate of greasy french fries leaves me just a little concerned with their other offerings. I think I'll pass until you do justice for this restaurant.
0 star rating
Overall Rating

0 out of 4 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Phil on January 14, 2012 1:47 PM
The Hot Hamburger appears to be a close cousin of the Horseshoe of downstate Illinois - same thing, a burger patty on a piece of bread covered with a mountain of fries, but with melted cheese in place of gravy.
0 star rating
Overall Rating

0 out of 1 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Craig Earickson on January 13, 2012 8:03 PM
Murphy's is a true 60's throwback. Chrome stools at the bar and booths. In fact, Murphy's was destroyed by tornado in the 80's and was rebuilt on the same footprint with virtually the same interior. If trendy, modern atmosphere is what you want, then Murphy's is not your place. If great food, surrounded by friendly working people is what you want, then this is your place. If you get there around lunch or dinner time, be prepared to wait for a table up to an hour (it's that busy). They have a waiting room to get out of the weather, but it'll be full too. They also have a carry-out window if you do get there at peak time. Call your order in and show up 20 minutes later and avoid the rush. Get there before prime rush (5:15) or best wait until after 7:30.

Hot Hamburger is the signature dish. A spinoff of the old hot roast beef sandwich, it starts with toast on the bottom, topped with a hamburger patty, smothered with french fries, and a smooth, brown gravy. Variations are a Hot Steak, Hot Cheeseburger, with sauteed onions. The fries are freshly cut and rival anyones, and the gravy just finishes it all off. By the time you get to the bottom, you've almost forgot about the hamburger and toast. Other resturants in the area have added hot hamburgers to their menu's, but don't be fooled; none have replicated the fries and especially the gravy.

The original owners have passed on, and are laid to rest about 1.5 miles from the resturant under a headstone that reads "And Gravy Over All".
4 star rating
Overall Rating
Hot Hamburger

6 out of 6 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Tracye Myers on December 7, 2011 9:11 PM
Murphy's is nothing short of AMAZING! I have eaten here since I was a child. There is a four-day process in making the gravy; it is absolutely not out of a package as one of the raters suggested. It doesn't matter what time of day you go to Murphy's. You will wait in line; most of the people in line are there for the Hot Hamburger while the rest are there for the salads topped with the famous house garlic dressing. Murphy's will not disappoint your taste buds.
5 star rating
Overall Rating

5 out of 5 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Sam on November 21, 2011 12:19 PM
My wife and I came to Bartlesville Saturday November 19, 2011. We were told that we had to try this Hot Cheeseburger before we left. We did go. We were not impressed by the overall appearance of the inside of the restaurant; it was old and outdated.

We sat down, and right away we noticed they had a lot of employees. In fact, there were at least five standing at the register the whole time we were there and at one point we counted eight just standing around laughing and talking. Behind the register was a television with the Oklahoma-Baylor football game on. I tried to watch a little but was constantly blocked by employees standing in front of it, blocking the view.

Our waitress came and took our order. She was very polite. We ordered the Hot Cheeseburger. It was not as advertised, not chopped hamburger. It was a hamburger patty on four pieces of toast with french fries, covered in regular brown gravy, the same gravy powder mix you can buy at any store. The hamburger has little in the way of seasonings. We were really disappointed after hearing so much about it. It wasn't bad, just not what it was built up to be. I would rate it a five out of 10.
0 star rating
Overall Rating

2 out of 5 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Don on November 15, 2010 12:40 PM
We ate at Murphy's Saturday, November 13, 2010. We were referred by a person in Bartlesville. We do not live there, just there on business. It was great! The Hot Hamburger is the big attraction. Not for those watching calories, but a great meal. It was the middle of the afternoon, and they were as busy as if it were lunch or dinner. The diner atmosphere is very warm and inviting. The service was fast, friendly and personal. The place was very clean, and the food was fresh. We will definitely visit Bartlesville again, and no doubt eat at Murphy's. What a great place!
5 star rating
Overall Rating
Hot Hamburger

4 out of 4 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes

What is Roadfood?  |   Submit Content  |   Privacy Policy  |   Contact Roadfood.com   Copyright - Roadfood.com