Your Guide to Authentic Regional Eats
Sign In | Register for Free!
Restaurants Recipes Forums Eating Tours Merchandise FAQ Maps Insider

Goulash Place

42 Highland Ave., Danbury, CT - (203) 744-1971
Posted By Michael Stern on November 19, 2009 10:56 AM
A hard-to-find restaurant in a mostly residential neighborhood, the Goulash Place is a treasure-trove of Eastern European gastronomy not far from Interstate 84. John and Magda Aczel lived upstairs in the back of their little Hungarian café, which they operated for a quarter century. Although Magdi passed away a few years ago, you will likely meet John, or at least see him when the kitchen door swings open. He is the chef.

Made-from-scratch specialties include three kinds of goulash, including our personal favorite -- Transylvanian, which is velvety hunks of pork adrift in sauerkraut. Other favorites include chicken paprikash, roast pork, and stuffed cabbage. It is a dilemma choosing side dishes, for Mr. Aczel's mashed potatoes are chunky, soulful spuds served with a bit of gravy from whatever they accompany; on the other hand, there are always nockerli, which are little hand-fashioned dumpling squiggles in a butter sauce that go so well with paprikash. With any meal, it is essential to fork into a bowl of traditional Hungarian cucumber salad – a refreshingly pickly tastebud-refresher.

Start with a bowl of wondrously aromatic chicken soup and finish with palascinke -- tender crepes wrapped around apricot and chopped-nut filling. From soup to nuts, this superb food is presented with Old-World charm so genuine that sometimes you feel that you are dining not in a restaurant, but at the home of a favorite relative.
5 star rating
Overall Rating
Transylvanian Goulash
Chicken Noodle Soup
Wiener Schnitzel
Stuffed Cabbage
Hungarian Goulash
Chicken Paprikash
Sampler Plate

32 out of 32 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Maria Carter on September 28, 2012 11:21 PM
Stopped for dinner on the way to the Fall Roadfood CT Tour! Had the cucumber salad (lovely - the dollop of sour cream nicely accented the punchy vinegary dressing), the cabbage roll (OK - I prefer mine with more of a sweet/sour sauce - this was a smidge bland), and the Hungarian goulash (very good). Veggies on the side could have used some seasoning, but this is good food served by nice folks. Not too much of a detour off I-84.
2 star rating
Overall Rating
Hungarian Goulash
Stuffed Cabbage

0 out of 0 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Jan Stark on December 11, 2010 1:27 PM
If you are from Hungarian descent as I am, you will absolutely think you are back at grandma's house in the old country. This is simply superb "old-world" home cooking as Authentic & Hungarian as it gets. The chef and owner John Aczel will meet and greet all who enter his establishment and he may even join you for dinner or a glass of wine. You'll want to keep coming back so that you can taste the scrumptious entrées and the delectable desserts. Stuffed Cabbage you could die for and the "Goulash"... Well it's all in the name. Oh... and if $$$$ is your concern, have no fear... This place is definitely for those of us that are, let's just say, Frugal, no make that CHEAP!

If you are within 100 miles of this place, start driving now... It's worth the trip!

I love this place... You will too. SEE YOU THERE!
5 star rating
Overall Rating
Transylvanian Goulash
Stuffed Cabbage
Hungarian Goulash
Chicken Paprikash
Chicken Noodle Soup
Sampler Plate
Wiener Schnitzel

1 out of 1 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Hallie Garner on November 4, 2010 10:10 PM
The food here was among the best we had of Road Food in CT. Hard to locate, but well worth the search. Very authentic and everything tasty. Cabbage rolls are to die for.
0 star rating
Overall Rating

0 out of 0 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Richard Baker on October 19, 2010 5:32 PM
As is true with every place we have tried in the Roadfood list of places this was a truly wonderful experience. The food great, hot and served quickly. They have an extensive menu, and who knew you could do so much with goulash. If you want to get away and relax you can not do better. As for the prices I do not know how they make a profit the prices are so low. You will not leave hungry and if you leave anything on your plate the owner is concerned that you are not happy. We were very happy, just full. Although not overly corowded they do a very good dinner business and there were very few open tables when we went.

This is not an easy place to find and you will truly need your gps, but if you are anywhere near here it is well worth the effort to plan a meal here. Do not snack before you go as the portions are more than ample and you will not leave hungry. The owner comes to talk to you and is very concerned about his customers and wants to make sure that everyone is happy. Warm, cozy family feel. Truly a gem of a find.
3 star rating
Overall Rating
Hungarian Goulash
Sampler Plate

1 out of 1 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Doug Eisler on July 2, 2009 11:22 PM
A friend and I ate there once when Magda was still alive. She looked at me and said, "What are you?" A bit bewildered, I looked at my friend (who knew I was Hungarian) and he motioned and whispered "Hungarian, dummy." So I told Magda and she said that I looked like a certain type of Hungarian. It was very interesting to me, because no one had ever in my life guessed that I was Hungarian. Then she asked if I spoke the language and I replied no, and worse, I'm only second generation. So, sitting at the table before we had even ordered, she lightly slaps me in the back of the head and says, "That's terrible!" My friend and I had quite a chuckle.

The food was great, especially with a bottle of Bull's Blood wine. And, of course, Magda made it even better.
4 star rating
Overall Rating
Hungarian Goulash
Chicken Paprikash

8 out of 9 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By John Buonaiuto on April 19, 2007 5:09 PM
I have been going to the Goulash Place for as long as I can remember. Contrary to what the other reviewers have said, Magda was a wonderful woman who you had to get to know; once you did, you loved her. I heard that she recently passed away, which is quite sad. On to the food...

This is some of the best Hungarian food that you will ever eat in a restaurant. It's where I learned to love paprikas. Their goulashes are amazing. Everything is amazing. I will continue to eat here until the Goulash Place closes its doors for good.

If you are looking for great service and atmosphere you might want to try somewhere else. If you want GREAT Hungarian food, try the Goulash Place.
5 star rating
Overall Rating

5 out of 5 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes
Posted By Daniel Lucente on March 13, 2007 9:02 AM
I am a real fan of the Goulash Place. Magda, who used to oversee the restaurant, has departed this realm. Her husband, always very pleasant, remains, along with a polite waitstaff.

The food is sublime, well-spiced, and delicious. The cabbage in particular, served with many dishes, is wonderful, always perfectly limp (a desirable quality in Eastern European cooking), perfectly spiced, and generously served. The sauces and gravys are rich and complex, imparting a wonderful flavour to anything they touch. The chicken paprikash is also a standout as is the goulash soup, almost a meal unto itself. Do yourself a favour and dine here before it is gone. It is not to be missed.
0 star rating
Overall Rating

11 out of 11 people found the review helpful. Was it helpful to you?

No Yes

What is Roadfood?  |   Submit Content  |   Privacy Policy  |   Contact Roadfood.com   Copyright - Roadfood.com